# Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the U3A Dunedin Charitable Trust held at Salmond College on Thursday 13<sup>th</sup> February 2020 at 11 a.m.

**Present :** Alan Jackson (Chair), Geoff Adams, Helen Adams, Carole Bezett, Jenny Bunce, Joan Carter, Bruce Cathro, Sue Cathro, Anneloes de Groot, Ken Drew, Eldora Gilbert, Denise Harger, Matt Harger, Jude Hathaway, Heather Hay, Kaye Henderson, Denise Hesson, Rosemary Hudson, Doug Holborow, Lynda Jackson, Jane Johnson, Gerard Kenny, Dorothy Kerin, Linda Kinniburgh, Neill Kinniburgh, Gretchen Kivell, Ilona Kokay, Jeanette Leigh, Barrie Peake, Marion Potter, Betty Rawlings, Annette Riley, Stuart Strachan, Evan Taylor, Marnie Thompson, Pat Thwaites, Shirley Ungemuth, Elaine Webster.

**Apologies:** Robin Aitken, Joan Ashworth, Ann Barrowclough, Ngaire Bates, Christine Burton, John Burton, Tree Cocks, Garda Cortesi, Louise Croot, Meg Evans, Jill Geary, Peter Gilbert, Sandra Goodchild, Val Goss, Joy Hayward, Richard Higham, Barbara Holborow, Wallace Keown, Eleanor Leckie, Rob Lawson, Bill McIndoe, Margaret McIndoe, Jenny Neilson, Rona Potiki, Judith Shields, Lloyd Smith, Charmian Smith, Jean Strachan.

**Moved:** Apologies be accepted: Alan Jackson / Matt Harger **Carried** 

Minutes: The Minutes of the AGM 14 February Salmond College 2019 were confirmed as an

accurate record.

**Moved:** Geoff Adams / Kay Henderson Carried

# **Matters Arising:**

Sue Cathro noted that the minutes contained the names of apologies, but not of those present. It was agreed that those present should be recorded.

The question of why the Community Donation agreed to in 2019 has not been finalised was asked. It was explained that no suitable project has been found but that there is the remainder of 2020 to make this decision.

# Presentation of the Annual Report from the Chair:

A moment of silence was observed to remember members and friends who have left us at U3A Dunedin since 2019 AGM.

A warm welcome was extended to new members attending for the first time

The Chair then read his comprehensive report previously published on the web site. The report included new innovations on the web page to assist members, and acknowledged retiring members. Barrie Peake from Chair of the Programme Committee, Alistair Wright (assistant treasurer) and Doug Holborow for his outstanding contribution to the U3A Dunedin Board recognising the many office holdings he has undertaken with excellence over many years.

**Moved**: that the report be accepted Alan Jackson/Denise Harger **Carried** with acclamation.

# **Presentation of the Financial Report from the Treasurer:**

Evan Taylor spoke to his financial summary, which along with the draft detailed Statement of Financial Performance was previously available to all attendees on the web site.

Surplus of the year 2019 was \$2075 compared with \$1788 in 2018

Donations to presenters were \$8600 compared with \$10,500 in 2018

The Review of the 2019 Financial Statements is in progress and no changes are expected. Sandra Goodchild is U3A Dunedin Charitable Trust's Reviewer

# **Cash and Trust Funds**

At ANZ Bank \$91,134 Trust Funds stand at \$71, 229

The first \$25,000 tranche of the special gift to Otago University (from the reserves) has been made. The second will follow in November.

Trust Funds will be substantially reduced but will remain at a level appropriate to our Organisation's needs.

### Financial Position at Dec. 2019

Current A/C ANZ \$3075 Term Deposits \$88,060 Net Equity at Balance Date \$71,230

Evan moved the adoption of his report, seconded Barrie Peake. Carried with acclamation.

### Notice of Motion to amend Clause 6.1 of the Dunedin U3A Deed.

The Board recommends that the Board shall consist of not less than four or more than sixteen (previously fourteen) members who shall be Trustees of the Trust from time to time.

Moved: Alan Jackson seconded Matt Harger Carried

# **Election of the U3A Board:**

Geoffrey Adams

Jill Geary

Linda Kinniburgh

Marion Potter

Jeanette Leigh

Ngaire Bates

Anneloes de Groot

Alan Jackson

Barrie Peake

Evan Taylor

Jane Johnson

Jane Johns

All confirmed.

Elaine Webster will be the University representative.

# **Life Members nominations:**

**Alan Jackson moved the motion:** U3A Dunedin Board wishes to nominate John Shanks as an honorary life member in recognition of his outstanding technical support to the administration of U3A Dunedin. **Seconded Doug Holborow**Carried

It was noted that all original life members created at the time of U3A Dunedin's  $20^{th}$  celebration have now passed away.

Rosemary Hudson, retired Board member since 2014, nominated the following retired Board members for their excellent contribution to the life and success of U3A Dunedin for ten years or more.

Doug Holborow Bill George Sue Cathro Judith Grey

Approved with acclamation.

Carole Bezett then thanked the Board and fellow volunteers for the inspiring and successful programmes organised by U3A Dunedin. The professional management is much appreciated.

# The meeting closed at 11.54am

gned as a true record:	
nte:	• • • • • • •